Ithaca, N.Y. — Hockey Canada on Monday named Cornell’s Doug Derraugh the head coach for the Canadian women’s national team for the 2014-15 season.

Screen Shot 2014-07-07 at 5.37.54 PM
Doug Derraugh

Derraugh, the winningest women’s coach in school history, will guide his native country to two tournaments — the 4 Nations Cup and the 2015 IIHF Women’s World Championship in Sweden — this upcoming season.

Derraugh was an assistant on the 2012 women’s team that won a gold medal that won the world championship 5-4 in overtime over the United States in Burlington, Vt., back in April of 2012, and he succeeds former NHL head coach Kevin Dineen in the role for Hockey Canada.

Derraugh will be joined by former Vermont head coach Tim Bothwell as well as Dwayne Gylywoychuk, former head coach of the Brandon Wheat Kings of the Western Hockey League.

“The 2014-15 season begins a new Olympic cycle for the women’s program, and a crucial time to build on our success in Sochi,” said Hockey Canada’s Melody Davidson said in a release. “Doug, Tim and Dwayne have all worked with our program and bring great international and club team experience to the team.”

The 4 Nations Cup takes place in British Columbia in November, and the World Championship will take place after Cornell’s season in April of 2015.

In his ninth season in Ithaca last year, Derraugh led the Big Red to a 24-6-4 record, winning the ECAC hockey title over Clarkson. Cornell fell in the NCAA quarterfinals to Mercyhurst.