ITHACA, N.Y. — The Town of Ithaca Democratic Committee is hosting a “Meet the Candidates” forum Tuesday.

Candidates running for town offices and Tompkins County Legislature will be present to answer questions and talk about their platforms. Though several seats are contested, this event is not meant to be a debate. The event will be an informal chance to meet candidates and hear them speak briefly, the Democratic Committee said.

The forum will take place from 7 to 9 p.m. Tuesday at Ithaca Town Hall, 215 N. Tioga St. in Ithaca.  Registered voters in the Town of Ithaca are invited to attend.

Election 2017: Who’s running for Tompkins County Legislature?

As of Monday, the following candidates are expected to attend:

  • Incumbent Ithaca Town Board members Pat Leary, Tee-Ann Hunter and Rich DePaolo
  • Incumbent Ithaca Town Justice James Salk
  • Incumbent County Legislators Jim Dennis, Dan Klein and Dooley Kiefer
  • New County Legislature candidates Anne Koreman, Deborah Dawson, Herb Engman, Shawna Black and Amanda Champion

No endorsements will be made at the meeting.

Anyone interested in running on the Democratic line for Ithaca Town Board, Ithaca Town Justice or for Tompkins County Legislature are encouraged to contact Town of Ithaca Democratic Committee Chair Linda Hoffman at

Kelsey O'Connor is the managing editor for the Ithaca Voice. Questions? Story tips? Contact her at and follow her on Twitter @bykelseyoconnor.