ITHACA, N.Y.— Following tradition, local Democratic Committee Chair Irene Stein announced election results to a crowd full of hugs, high-fives and cheers at the Tompkins County Democratic Victory Party on Tuesday night.

The 2018 legislature will be made up of seven women, compared to the previous five — exactly half of the legislature — and the most diverse in recent memory with two women also being part of the LGBTQ+ community.

Tompkins County Democratic Committee Chair Photo by Jolene Almendarez/The Ithaca Voice

Henry Granison secured his victory for District 3 and is excited to start working as a first-time representative.

“It feels great, it’s a real high,” Granison said. “I am just going to get involved and really dig in deep.”

Granison is most excited to work on the issue of affordable housing in the County.

He also wants to focus on tax rebates and help with the general plan of the committee.

Shawna Black, District 11 winner, is another first-time politician who said she is ready for action to try to increase the living wage in Tompkins County.

Shawna Black checks her poll numbers Tuesday night before wining the District 11 seat. Photo by Sarah Resman/The Ithaca Voice

Aside from the living wage, Black is looking forward to conversations surrounding the local opioid epidemic. She currently works for the Southern Tier Aids Program.

“We’re looking for ways we can save lives,” Black said. “We want to focus on harm reduction and on educating people.”

District 5 representative, Anne Koreman, is ecstatic about her first-time political victory. She is looking forward to seeing the progress of the renewable energy project around the county and is pushing for the natural gas moratorium to be passed.

“The technology is there,” Koreman said. “This would give us that extra push.”

Among other first-time winners Tuesday night were District 12’s Amanda Champion and District 10’s Deborah Dawson.

For a complete list of 2017 election results, click here. 

Featured photo: Seven of the 14 legislator seats in Tompkins County will now be held by female candidates. Featured in the photo from left to right are Amanda Champion, Deborah Dawson, Martha Robertson, Anna Kelles, Leslyn McBean-Clairborne, Shawna Black, and Anne Koreman. Photo by Jolene Almendarez/The Ithaca Voice