ITHACA, N.Y.—There will be another new face on Common Council, as Graham Kerslick has announced that he will not seek re-election to his seat representing the Fourth Ward.

Kerslick said he informed his colleagues on the council of his intentions on Jan. 31. He has served on the council since 2012.

“Since joining Common Council in 2012, it has been a pleasure and great privilege to work with such dedicated, thoughtful and engaging colleagues,” Kerslick wrote in an email to his fellow alderpersons. “I have appreciated our discussions and subsequent action on a whole range of issues from housing and social programs to chickens and dogs. It’s been an honor to represent the 4th Ward during this time, getting to know and working for the residents. I’ve also appreciated and benefited from the support of our democratic ward committee.”

He concluded by saying he was looking forward to addressing any further issues facing the city through the end of the year.

Kerslick’s announcement means four Common Council members stating that they will not seek re-election, meaning nearly half of the city’s governing board will be new going into 2022. Seph Murtagh, Deb Mohlenoff and Donna Fleming have all already announced that they would not be seeking another term.

Matt Butler is the Editor in Chief of The Ithaca Voice. He can be reached by email at