ITHACA, N.Y.—The Ithaca City School District Board of Education will have several new faces this year, as challengers snagged three of the four seats available on the board during Tuesday’s election.

In addition to the substantial turnover on the board, the district’s $158 million budget passed easily, as did the capital reserve funds plans for new electric buses, among other expenses.

Katie Apker, Garrick Blalock and Adam Krantweiss all secured seats on the board, while Sean Eversley Bradwell retained his position as the chair of the board. There were three occupied seats and one vacant seat up for grabs—though Eversley Bradwell kept his, Christopher Malcolm and Patricia Wasyliw were both knocked off the board.

The Board of Education will meet Wednesday night to certify the results.

Vote totals

Sean Eversley Bradwell – 2,187

Garrick Blalock – 2,183

Katie Apker – 2,154

Adam Krantweiss – 2,121

Christopher Malcolm – 1,151

Patricia Wasyliw – 1,127

Joe Lonsky – 599

Proposition votes

Proposed 2023-2024 ICSD budget

Yes – 73.2% (2,395 votes)

No – 26.8% (878 votes)

Capital Reserve Funds plans

Yes – 80.9% (2,643 votes)

No – 19.1% (622 votes)

Matt Butler

Matt Butler is the Editor in Chief at The Ithaca Voice. He can be reached by email at