ITHACA, N.Y.—A candidate forum is to be held at the Greater Ithaca Activities Center Thursday night for all five of the contested Democratic primaries in the City of Ithaca’s Common Council elections. 

The League of Women Voters of Tompkins County (LWVTC)  organized the event. Each of the  candidates will make opening statements before breaking out into separate question and answer sessions. At the end of the event,  each candidate will have the opportunity to make closing statements. The event is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. and ends at 9 p.m. . 

In the 1st Ward Alderperson Cynthia Brock and Kayla Matos are running against one another to represent the city’s 1st Ward. 

Three candidates are competing in the primary to represent the 2nd Ward for a two-year term: Alderperson Kris-Haines-Sharp, West Fox, and Aryeal Jackson. 

In the 3rd Ward, David Shapiro and Nathan Sitaraman are competing for a four-year term. 

Both seats in the Fifth Ward are contested in the primary. Margaret Fabrizio and Michelle Song are vying for a four year term, while Jason Houghton and Clyde Lederman are seeking the two-year term. 

The opening statements will be live streamed on YouTube by the League of Women Voters, and the individual question and answer sessions will be recorded separately. LWVTC will be uploading the recordings of these sessions soon after Thursday’s candidate forum. 

Early voting begins on June 17, and the primary election day is June 27.

Jimmy Jordan is Senior Reporter for The Ithaca Voice. Questions? Story tips? Contact him at Connect with him on Twitter @jmmy_jrdn